CSIA: Who We Are, What We Do & Why We Do It

The Chimney Safety Institute of America (CSIA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the education, training, and certification of chimney and venting industry-related professionals.

Additionally, we strive to advance public awareness about the dangers of chimney fires and other problems related to the maintenance and performance of chimney and venting systems through consumer education.

We’ve been the industry leader in chimney and venting education since 1983, and our nationally-recognized credentials include the CSIA Certified Chimney Sweep®, CSIA Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician®, CSIA Certified Master Chimney Sweep®, and CSIA Certified Chimney Specialist®.

Certified Chimney Sweep

Certified Chimney Sweep

Certified Chimney Specialist

Certified Chimney Specialist

Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician

Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician

Master Chimney Sweep

Certified Master Sweep

We’re On a Mission

We’re on a mission to enhance the chimney and venting industry through education, certification, and public awareness. Our shared vision is that every family enjoys a safe, warm home, because every family deserves one.

How do we achieve that mission and shared vision?

Professional Training & Education

We provide unparalleled education and training to chimney and venting pros and hold our credential holders to a higher standard. We offer eLearning, in-person training, and training here at our 10,000 square-foot Technology Center.

Each credential holder passes intensive examination based on fire codes, clearances, and standards for construction and maintenance of chimney and venting systems. Additionally, each agrees to abide by our Code of Ethics.

When homeowners see the CSIA certified logo, they can be confident they’re in good hands – because better training and higher standards makes for better professionals.

Homeowner Education & Resources

We’ve put together a number of homeowner resources right here on our site because we believe an informed homeowner is an empowered homeowner.

The majority of chimney and venting-related fires are preventable. By educating homeowners on proper use and maintenance of chimneys, venting systems, and heating appliances, we can help reduce the number of fires that occur here in the U.S. each year and prevent injuries, property loss, and heartache.

Community Involvement & Education

In our quest to educate and empower, we provide free training to local fire departments at our Technology Center, we visit local schools (and have local schools visit us), and we participate in public safety events within the community. If you’d like to invite us to an upcoming event or schedule a time for your group to tour our Technology Center, please email us at office@csia.org.

Adjacent Industry Education

Knowledge is best when it’s shared, which is why we also actively educate professionals in industries adjacent to the chimney and venting industry. We participate in and present at many national conferences in the home inspection, HVAC, HOA, and property management spaces throughout the year. We also hold associate memberships in several affiliated trade associations.

Our Core Values

What guides us and makes our organization run?

  • Education – The foundation of our organization.
  • Commitment to Excellence – Perform at the highest level.
  • Professionalism – Possess the knowledge, skills, and good judgment to be the primary resource for our customers.
  • Integrity – Adhere to moral principles with an unyielding commitment to our Code of Ethics.
  • Safety – Paramount in all aspects of our organization, safety is our middle name.

Get to Know Our Board of Directors

The CSIA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. We think they’re pretty great, but we’ll let you get to know them yourself.

Board of Directors - Tommy Nelms

President (serving since 2017)
​Tommy Nelms

Sweeps & Ladders Chimney Service
Nashville, TN
tommy@sweepsandladders.com

Board of Directors - John Ceaser

Vice President (serving since 2018)
John Ceaser

Ceaser Chimney Service, Inc.
Manchester, NH
John@CeaserChimney.com

Board of Directors - Kurt Felgemacher

Secretary (serving since 2019)
Kurt Felgemacher

Felgemacher Masonry
Amherst, NY
kurt@felgemachermasonry.com​

Board of Directors - Avery Soderman

Treasurer (serving since 2019)
Avery Soderman

Wells & Sons Chimney Service
Gilbertsville, PA
avery.soderman@wellssons.com

Board of Directors - Mark Stoner

Past President (2014-2017) (serving since 2011)
Mark Stoner

Ashbusters Chimney Service
Nashville, TN
mark@ashbusters.net

Board of Directors - John Pilger

John Pilger (serving since 1997)

Chief Chimney Services
Smithtown, NY
chimneyman@aol.com

Board of Directors - Darin Bibeau

Darin Bibeau (serving since 2016)

National Chimney
Carmel, IN
dbibeau@nationalchimney.com

Board of Directors - Jesse Doucette

Jesse Doucette (serving since 2021)

Crown Chimney LLC
Hooksett, NH
Jesse@crownchimney.com

Board of Directors - Lou Curley

Lou Curley (serving since 2021)

Lou Curley’s Chimney Service
Drexel Hill, PA
loucurley@loucurley.com​

Staff - Russ Dimmitt

Russ Dimmitt
Education Director

rdimmitt@csia.org

Staff- Annemarie Stockton

Annemarie Stockton
Public Relations Director

astockton@csia.org

Staff - Sara Sichting

Sara Sichting
Records and Systems Coordinator

ssichting@csia.org

Staff - Charissa Mahaffey

Charissa (Benge) Mahaffey
Certification Coordinator

cmahaffey@csia.org

Staff - Matt Ellis

Matt Ellis
​Assistant Education Director

mellis@csia.org

Staff - Tammy Bruner

Tammy Bruner
​Program Coordinator

tbruner@csia.org

Staff - Penny Seals

Penny Seals
Office Coordinator

pseals@csia.org

Staff - Kaitlyn Gonzalez

Kaitlyn Gonzalez
Administrative Assistant

kgonzalez@csia.org

We’re Here When You Need Us

If you have any questions or would like to speak to someone here at the CSIA, please reach out to us at 317-837-5362 or email us at office@csia.org.

Waiting on a response from us? We aim to respond to all emails within one business day. If you haven’t heard from us, our response may be hiding in your spam folder. Nothing there? Give us a call so we can help.